43 Assembly seats for Jammu and 47 seats to the Kashmir region: Delimitation Commission

Out of the 90 Assembly Constituencies in the region, 43 will be part of the Jammu region and 47 for the Kashmir region.

The Delimitation Commission for Jammu and Kashmir on Thursday finalised the delimitation order and submitted it to the Election Commission of India wherein it has recommended 43 Assembly seats for Jammu division and 47 seats to the Kashmir region.

For the first time, nine Assembly Constituencies (ACs) have been reserved for the Scheduled Tribes, out of which, six are in the Jammu region and three in Kashmir. The constitution of the erstwhile Jammu and Kashmir state had no provision for the reservation of seats for Scheduled Tribes in the Legislative Assembly.

As per the final Delimitation Order, the following will come into effect from the date to be notified by the Central Government:-

  1. Out of the 90 Assembly Constituencies in the region, 43 will be part of the Jammu region and 47 for the Kashmir region keeping in view the provisions of Section 9(1)(a) of the Delimitation Act, 2oo2 and Section 6o(2)(b) of Jammu & Kashmir Reorganrzation Act, 2OL9.
  2. After consultation with Associate Members, representatives of political parties, citizens, civil society groups, gACs have been reserved for STs, out of which,6 are in Jammu region and 3 ACs in the Valley.
  3. There are five Parliamentary Constituencies in the region. The Delimitation Commission has seen the Jammu & Kashmir region as one single Union Territory. Therefore, one of the Parliamentary Constituency has been carried out combining the Anantnag region in the Valley and Rajouri & Poonch of the Jammu region.
  4. By this reorganisation each Parliamentary Constituency will have an equal number of 18 Assembly Constituencies each. Names of some ACs have also been changed keeping in view the demand of local representatives.

It may be recalled that the Delimitation Commission was constituted by the Govt. of India, in exercise of powers conferred by Section 3 of Delimitation Act, 2002 (33 of 20ozl, for the purpose of delimitation of Assembly and Parliamentary Constituencies in the Union Territory of Jammu & Kashmir.

The Commission associated in its work, 5 members of Lok Sabha elected from the UT of Jammu and Kashmir. These Associate Members were nominated by the Honble speaker of Lok Sabha.

Accordingly, the Delimitation Commission has reserved 9 ACs for STs for the first time and 07 for SCs. It is worthwhile to mention that the Constitution of erstwhile Jammu and Kashmir State did not provide for reservation of seats for the Scheduled Tribes in the Legislative Assembly.

Join Our Telegram Channel
Join JK Chrome WhatsApp Group

AC Services in J&K

Download 'JK CHROME' AppDownload 'JK Chrome' App to stay updated with Latest Exclusive Top Stories & Employment Updates from J&K.
Downloads: 1 Lakh + | Rating: 4.8
Back to top button